photography notes [ 1 ]

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 Daepo ( 대포 )


A few weeks ago I submitted a couple of photos to an exhibition here in Seoul that will open today as part of Photo & Imaging 2014 at the COEX Mall in Gangnam. It was the first time I had ever done such a thing and I was very pleased that one of them (above) was chosen to hang next to 49 others, all done by local photographers in the expatriate community whose work shows their mad skills, and whom I’ve followed and learned from over the past couple of years.

One of the others is Mark Eaton, who specializes in Fine Art Photography and lives far to the south of me in Suncheon. His blog gives more information.


This guy made a very high-speed motion camera to produce ‘slow motion urban portrait films‘ … these videos are people in subway stations – New York, Berlin and Tokyo – but you can linger with them, see expressions and postures gradually change.


Bored Panda found this gentleman on 500px. He appears to be a hobbyist, retired from the medical profession in Bangkok. He possesses a very fine awareness of what light can do. I think this one has to be my favorite.


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

in isolation


 

Huffpost published an interview with Nicholas Gooden, founder of the excellent site, Street Photography London. I like this:

People are too obsessed with gear and counting pixels, when really it’s just a tool. What matters is the end result. Some people have the best cameras but suck to put it simply. If you can capture a moment that gets to people’s heart then who cares what is used.

Read. Browse, Enjoy.


 This month I enrolled in a photography workshop in Fine Art Photography, taught by Ulla Reimer. She’s has been living in Korea for a while now, and I consider myself lucky to be among the half dozen participants. Just as with submitting photos to an exhibition, this is something I have never done before. I’m bound to learn something.

The photo below came out as part of this workshop, and the location was the newly-opened Dongdaemun Design Plaza. The building was designed by the celebrated architect Zaha Hadid, and I believe this structure is a great work of art. I also think it is somewhat scary.

I’m sure I’ll be writing more here about the DDP and the workshop. Here’s a set I put together on Flickr about the DDP.


 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sanctification


 

5 responses to “photography notes [ 1 ]

  1. Pingback: photography notes [ 2 ] | Bobster's Picture House

  2. Pingback: photography notes [ 3 ] | Bobster's Picture House

  3. Pingback: resume | Bobster's Picture House

Leave a Reply

