photography notes [ 2 ]

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADark City 3


As mentioned in the previous installment of ‘notes,’ I had a picture in an exhibition last weekend here in Seoul. Also as mentioned, I wasn’t the only one, and one of the reasons I absconded a bit early from my photography workshop last Sunday was to scoot my sweet patootie on over to COEX Mall and pick up the print that had been made of the thing. Another reason was that I had a feeling I’d get to meet some of the folk whose work I have been following and learning from over the past few years since I picked up this hobby / addiction.

And I did. Mark Eaton was the first guy I shook hands with and he was kind enough to delegate his wife to help me find something I had been looking for and would still be looking for if I hadn’t got that help. Next was Michelle Farley, who has been up to some really nice work in this town, and John Steele, whose blog I have followed for quite a while, and whose hand I finally got to shake. Jason Teale was over there on the other side of the room, and I wish I had walked over and greeted him because I don’t know if I’ll get another chance, as he doesn’t live in this city. Another guy who traveled a bit to get here was Douglas MacDonald, who photographs professionally for The Jeju Weekly – let me thank him now for tapping my shoulder and introducing himself as we were both heading out the door.

A bit over two dozen of the 50 people participating in the exhibition were there in one place, so we arranged ourselves into a group photograph. Dylan Goldby organized the whole thing, did all the legwork as far as I can tell, and he deserves special thanks. (Thanks, Dylan.)


His bio says that Thierry Cohen has been a pioneer in the use of digital techniques. His most recent project is something called Darkened Cities. He takes pictures of a city, digitally removes all traces of unnatural light, then combines the shot with a different photo of the night sky taken from outside the city far from any sources of light pollution. It’s worth a look, and some thought. (I live in Seoul, and I haven’t seen stars for quite some time.)


John Steele wrote about his growing respect for what kinds of images his smartphone will make for him, but explains why he’s still going to ask his DSLR to carry the heavy freight.


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Radiation


Sebastião Salgado is a Brazilian photojournalist and documentarian. He and his wife formed their own agency, Amazonas images, to promote his work, which aims ‘at the presentation of the unblemished faces of nature and humanity.’ By clicking their website you can view a large portion of his work. You can listen to him talk about his life in photography in this TED lecture. Also at TED, a gallery. And more, at Juxtapoz. An interview conducted by Benedikt Taschen can be viewed on YouTube as well.

Last winter, I somewhat enjoyed the Ben Stiller film The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, not least because the story contained much about the world of photography. I didn’t realize until recently that a good number of the covers shown for Life magazine had been created for the movie. Interesting.


Simon Slater wrote ‘A Passage to Seoul.  He has told me it is a love letter to a city.


I’ve been trying to discover just what Fine Art Photography means, and I haven’t figured it out entirely but I’m pretty sure Mikko Lagerstedt is in there somewhere. Not exactly the kind of thing I want to do myself, but I don’t mind looking.


If you have any interest in urbex, Jon Twitch will give some pointers over at asiapundits. Lightstalkers has some ideas about it as well.

I guess the very ultimate in abandoned places would have to be scenes of nuclear disasters. That would be Donald Weber’s ‘Fukushima Exclusion Zone.’ And, of course, there’s Gerd Ludwig’s ‘Long Shadow of Chernobyl.’ Also, look at Monster Children for more about that.


 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 Quartering


 

 

2 thoughts on “photography notes [ 2 ]

  1. Pingback: photography notes [ 3 ] | Bobster's Picture House

  2. Pingback: resume | Bobster's Picture House

Leave a Reply

